Port Shorts Primary School Challenge

Port Shorts Film Festival is entering into its fifth year since our rebirth in 2015. This year, we really want to engage primary schools and their students in the wonders of film creation. 


For those of you unfamiliar with the event, it has a long history in the Douglas Shire, with the inaugural festival held in 2001.  After a brief hiatus, the event was renewed in 2015 with the current team and the support of government funding.  The festival runs over two nights in late October, in the outdoor location of Rex Smeal Park, Port Douglas.  The 2019 Primary School Challenge will be screened on Friday, October 25th, showcasing entries in the late afternoon. It will be followed by the Young Filmmaker Awards (open to filmmakers 18 years and under) and Music Video Awards later in the evening.


The primary school section is planned to go for about an hour and this will include voting and the announcement of prizewinners.  It is important to stress that in the subsequent youth and music categories, some of the content may not be appropriate for younger children – our full program will provide further details. 


In a snapshot:


Event:             Port Shorts Film Festival Primary Schools Challenge

When:            Friday October 25th, 2019 – approx. time: 4:30pm to 5:30pm

Cost:               Free for entrants having their films screened; $5 per entry for 12    and under.  


      Entries are open to either a school submission or an individual.  Finalist selection is at the discretion of the Port Shorts Crew.   

      Entries to be no longer than 2 minutes.

      Optional theme: SINGLE-USE – in recognition of Port Shorts becoming a single-use plastic free festival last year, and it being the 2018 Collins Dictionary word of the year (https://www.collinsdictionary.com/woty).

      Entry open to all primary schools in the local area: Port Douglas State School, Mossman State School, St Augustine’s Primary School, Miallo State School, Wonga Beach State School, Alexandra Bay State School, Daintree State SchoolJulatten State School and Mt Molloy State School.  

      Submissions required by Friday September 13th, 2019.  

      Prizes: yet to be finalised but will include hardware and/or software such as camera gear and editing programs.  If a school entry wins, the prize will be given to the school; if an individual wins they will be awarded the prize directly.           


Powered by Khore by Showthemes